Home > Uncategorized > AMD V Series V140 2.3 GHz Single core processor Review

AMD V Series V140 2.3 GHz Single core processor Review

October 19th, 2010

The AMD V Series V140, is an entry level  single core processor clocked  at 2.3 GHz. Some of the architectural features of the V140, including the integrated memory controller and fast differential Hypertrasnport bus to communicate with chipset makes it a decent  processor. With the Integrated memory controller, the processor connects to the memory directly reducing the memory latency and improving memory transfer rate.

The V series V140  communicates with the chipset is using a 1600 MHz 16-bit HyperTransport link. HyperTransport is a scalable differential bus that provides massive bandwidth needed in today’s computing environment.

The AMD V140 has 512 KB of L2 cache and  no  L3 Cache. The lack of the L3 Cache is partly made up by the DDR3 integrated memory controller.

Its  TDP rating of just 25 Watts enables the design of the light and low power notebooks which could also be excellent for good battery life.

No detail bench marking result can be produced at the time of writing. You can check the V140 bench marking results now.   It is expected that its performance will improve upon the AMD V120 by 5%.  We may speculated  that its performance will be close to  similarly clocked Intel Celeron processors.

Some of the other features of the V140 processor include support of the special multimedia instruction sets MMX technology 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4A.  It supports Hardware Virtualization technology, which could be very helpful if you are having two operating systems working simultaneously.

Pros of AMD V140 Processor

- Low cost.
- Low power, ideal for notebooks and long battery life.
- DDR3 Integrated Memory Controller.

Cons of AMD V140 Processor

_ Lacks computing power for high end computing.
- No L3 Cache.

Some of the recent notebooks with AMD V Series V140 processor include Acer AS5252-V476,TOSHIBA Satellite C655D-S5087, Compaq Presario CQ62Z.

 

improving upon the frequency of the V120 by 100 MHz. The processor has an integrated Dual-channel  DDR3 SDRAM Memory controller.

In the next post we have listed the benchmark of V140 and then we have presented a comparison with some other entry level processors.

No related posts.

Uncategorized

  1. November 2nd, 2010 at 15:02 | #1

    is’t 1600 MHz 16-bit HyperTransport link parallel processing…

  2. December 21st, 2010 at 04:58 | #2

    Thanks for good clarification

  3. Rimdeker
    January 31st, 2011 at 05:31 | #3

    You think an Intel Atom processor is better than this?

  4. GTX
    February 1st, 2011 at 09:18 | #4

    I have this procesor in my laptop Toshiba. Is a very good procesor.

  5. February 28th, 2011 at 10:49 | #5

    I am looking at buying a new laptop and I want to spend no more than £300 could you suggest one. I have been looking into this HP HP G56-100SA – 3GB memory & 320GB hard drive. It has the processor that you are talking about in it.
    Thank you.

  6. Andy Lake
    March 2nd, 2011 at 02:51 | #6

    @Rob
    try ASDA – Compaq 15.6in 250 gb laptop (503-406) on offer at £277

  7. March 4th, 2011 at 09:41 | #7

    I ended up paying £370 for a HP G62-b29SA 15.6″ Laptop in white I am very happy with it.
    Thank you anyway.

  8. March 20th, 2011 at 15:59 | #8

    I recently got 2 laptops, one with INTEL and one with AMD. The AMD is consistently giving me problems shutting down on its own where the INTEL laptop is working flawlessly.

  9. GLENN
    April 8th, 2011 at 03:04 | #9

    SO WILL THIS BE GOOD TO RUN AGAME CALLED MINECRAFT AND OTHER PLEASE REPLY BECAUSE THE LAPTOP I HAVE NOW IS REALLY SLOW ITS THE COMPAQ PRESARIO cq60

  10. Chris
    June 30th, 2011 at 13:13 | #10

    Good processor, yes it can play mine craft, even on the highest settings. I can play it without any problems with my HP G56-100SA with this processor and originally 3gb of RAM. Recently I was looking into RAM upgrades and I bought a 4gb RAM unit, and used it to replace the 1gb unit, so I got 6gb of ram. I would recommend this to take advantage of its 64Bit capability.Brilliant processor for a budget , I have compared it to a Intel core duo, and the V140 performs on par, or sometimes even better than the Duo. Surprising for a single core. Intel needs to step up its game!

  11. ХУЙНЯ
    April 1st, 2013 at 07:30 | #11

    МЕНЯ ПРОСТО БЕСИТ ЭТОТ ПРОЦЕСОР ОТ НЕВО ИСХОДЯТ УЖАСНЫЕ ЗВУКИ И НАНЕМ НЕ ИДУТ ВАПЩЕ НЕ КАКИЕ НОРМАЛЬЫЕ ИГРЫ А ВЛЮЧАЕТЦА ОН КАК ПРОЦЕСОР НА СТРАРОМ КПП

  12. October 31st, 2013 at 06:23 | #12

    Advantages:1, the hardware configuration is balanced2, fashion design – Disadvantages:1, the surface is easily contaminated
    with fingerprints2, local heat. Typically warranties of 6 months are being extended on HP laptop batteries.
    The SYSmark2007 the Preview tests, the HP CQ40 313ax not successfully complete the entire test.

  1. No trackbacks yet.