Home > printer > HP Deskjet 1050 All-in-One Printer Review

HP Deskjet 1050 All-in-One Printer Review

November 25th, 2010

HP Deskjet 1050 All-in-One Printer can be used as scanner and photocopier in addition to printing. Deskjet Printers are generally less expensive than the Laser Printers, but, the cost of the ink and cartridge can turn out to be more in long run. This is also true with the HP Deskjet 1050 printer. In some peculiar circumstance this printer can be good, as, it is available at Walmart for just $34 (at the time of writing). On 2010 black Friday this printer sold for $20. The price at amazon is slightly more expensive.

In general we do not recommend this printer as there has been some issues reported with this printer by the customers. The most important of these issues is the expensive ink cartridge replacement and printer getting stuck at some point of time. Here are some of the conditions and circumstances under which this printer can be a good buy for you

- Your printing needs are rare. Like 10 or 20 copies a month. The only time you need taking a print out is, when you need to print a map, you income tax returns etc. If you regularly need, like 5 copies a day, we suggest that you invest in laser printer.

- You also plan to use this printer for your scanning needs.

A must read …..

Did you know that a Laser Printer can turn out to be better investment in long term ? Read about Laser Printer Vs Deskjet Printer

The print speed of Deskjet 1050 is decent at 16 pages per minute for Grey scale content and 12 pages per minute for color. The resolution is relatively decent at 600 dots per inch for black and 4800×1200 dpi for color content.

The cartridges that are supported by HP Deskjet 1050 All-in-One Printer are HP 61XL Tri-color Ink Cartridges, HP 61 and HP61XL Black Ink Cartridges.

As a copier, it can make 4.5 copies per minute with black and while copies 2.5 copies per minute with color ones.

As a scanner HP Deskjet 1050 can scan at 1200 dpi, though you may want to use smaller resolution for faster scanning in many circumstances.

The software CD that comes with HP Deskjet 1050 All-in-One Printer ontains the driver for the printer and the user starter guide. There is one year technical support provided by the company via the telephone and one year coverage for the hardware. Make sure you keep the receipts properly. You MAY NEED to return the printer.

Taking the cost spent for buying the printer is simply equal to what we pay to get a printer or a scanner or a photocopier but we get all three capabilities for the same price of a single item. This simply cost effective solutions to many needs.

HP Deskjet 1050 is Energy Star Certified, consuming less energy and helping keep environment green. However, if you end up throwing this printer ( as its cartridge turned out to be expensive), it will eventually lead to more waste.

No related posts.

printer

  1. TGRanganathan
    January 23rd, 2011 at 08:23 | #1

    kindly inform me the price prevailing in India as otherwise i think of buying in Singapore and taking to India.
    I saw this piece in the show room and am much impressed.
    i don’t know abt the cartdriges and cost.
    Still i prefer to buy this one for my home use .
    Please inform emdetails,
    tgranganathan@gmail.com

  2. karen morris
    January 26th, 2011 at 07:21 | #2

    DON’T BUY IT! I buy a cheapo HP printer every year, usually on Black Friday from Walmart. This year it was the 1050. Each year, the print cartridges last about a year, plus or minus a month. We rarely print anything out.
    The printer itself is fine. Standard issue, does what I need it to do. But how SHOCKED was I that the black cartridge lasted THREE WEEKS. I printed no photos, probably just 100 black and white pages over the three weeks. Needless to say, I got royally burned on this deal. My fault, as I didn’t read any reviews before hand.

  3. March 27th, 2011 at 12:30 | #3

    karen morris, you right

  4. Paresh
    May 21st, 2011 at 03:46 | #4

    Dear,
    Cartridges came with this printer are introductory one, means limited ink ( std HP policy), but when you purchase new cartridges then you will get more printouts. Also refilling is very easy for these cartridges. pareshcomp@gmail.com

  5. Gajender Jadhav
    September 9th, 2011 at 04:44 | #5

    If looking for a long term thing, Epson is the best in the league. Try it out.

  6. Minakshi Nair
    October 24th, 2011 at 22:54 | #6

    I would any day prefer the Epson printers. Have been using them since the last 2 years and am very happy with the performance.

  7. Sarah
    November 27th, 2011 at 12:44 | #7

    I bought this printer in March of this year and have never had a problem with it. I’m a college student and I print a lot of stuff. The ink lasted a looooong time for me. I’ve only had to buy ink for it once, and that was in August.. I would highly recommend this printer to any and everybody!

  8. mohammed yunus
    January 8th, 2012 at 03:53 | #8

    p/s price send my e-mail
    hp1050
    cartridge

  9. coolkrc
    August 29th, 2012 at 07:53 | #9

    I bought this printer this Jan thinking it to be a decent All in one in the economic category. What a disappointment :( My Epson was much better, the only reason why I disposed of it was because of nearly no after-sales service.
    In the past 7 months of usage, I have replaced the black cartridge 4 times!!!! This despite we using it at home and only occasionally printing B&W documents.
    The biggest gripe is the lack of a build-in print preview. This was such a wonderful feature in Epson. But now I have to waste several sheets of paper before I get the right print-out especially from photosuite softwares. Again this is fine for me as I know how to change the document type from Letter to A4 etc and experiment, but my father isnt tech savvy, he cant be wasting his time experimenting with this idiocy!!!
    Newer models of any software or hardware should be improvements over predecessors, not downgrades
    Pathetic pathetic show from HP

  10. Brenda
    February 9th, 2013 at 16:53 | #10

    Anyone looking at this printer ,it is not a bad deal if you buy refillable ink. I am in Canada and get my ink from 123inkcardridges.ca awesome deal. I have had this printer for a year and printed photos and never a problem. Anyone running out of ink,1st try,probably used the ink that came with the printer,which is never full in any printer,that I have ever bought.

  11. April 3rd, 2013 at 04:21 | #11

    Hi there, I think your website could possibly be
    having internet browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening
    in IE, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!

    Aside from that, great site!

  12. October 24th, 2013 at 13:48 | #12

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

  13. August 28th, 2014 at 16:28 | #13

    If some one desires expert view about bloggng after that i propose him/her to pay a quick
    visit this blog, Keep up the good work.

  14. October 2nd, 2014 at 03:46 | #14

    whoah this blog is wonderful i love studying your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You recognize, lots of people are
    hunting round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.