Home > Notebook Reviews > HP G56-129WM Review

HP G56-129WM Review

November 23rd, 2010

The HP G56-129WM is powered by 2.2GHz Intel Celeron 900 processor and comes with 15.6” display.

Processor- HP G56-129WM comes with Intel Celeron mobile 900 processor, which operates at the speed of 2.2 GHz. Though it has only one core. Most of the newer processors including core i3 come with two cores and you will find the processor performance sluggish, but still decent enough for emails, surfing, word and spreadsheets.

The Celeron mobile 900 does not has integrated memory controller which reduces. It communicates with the chipset using FSB ( Front Side Bus) that operates at the 800MHz. The FSB, in turn communicates with the Memory. However, 1MB L2 cache helps to reduce latency a bit.

For multithreaded application, the performance of the machine may not match one’s expectation.

RAM- HP G56-129WM offers 3GB DDR2 RAM. Note that memory is DDR2 type not DDR3. So their might be lag in performance if you compare it to DDR3 RAM equipped machine. As told earlier, HP G56-129WM is able to perform home computing, watching videos and photos.

Graphics- It comes with Intel GMA 4500M graphics which is for entry level laptop. You can play basic games but hard to play powerful games.

Users Feedbacks

Even with its lackluster specification, the ,HP G56-129WM has generally appreciative feedback at Walmart, where it received 20 5-stars and 12 4-stars rating out of 40 ratings. The notebook is available for $328 at the time of writing.

Cautions

- Notice that the notebooks does not come with in built camera. So if this is your concern, do not buy this notebook.

Starred Reviews Recommendation – Starredreviews is generally not appreciative of this notebook. It is offered as refurbished, in huge volume at $328 at Walmart. The large return rate generally indicates user dissatisfaction. The Keyboards in HP G56-129WM are not generally pleasant to work with. If you can get this notebook for under $300, it may be ok, otherwise, we suggest that invest $75 or so and get some dual core core i3 processor. It will have much longer life before obsolescence.

Other Specifications

Operating system- The machine is based on Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit Edition

HDD-The disk space available with HP G56-129WM is 250GB which enough for storing photo video and files.

Display- the 15.6 inches display of G56-129WM laptop is LED display,

When comes to multimedia, HP G56-129WM laptop is integrated with SuperMulti double-layer DVD burner. Many laptops of similar price ranges are devoid of inbuilt DVD burner. You need to buy separate USB DVD burner

For internet connection compatibility it offers both 10/100 Ethernet and 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi.

HP G56-129WM offer 3.USB 2.0 ports, one VGA port, one RJ 45 port, 1 headphone out and 1 mic in. It seems it doesn’t have HDMI port and neither it has webcam.

The battery pack it comes with is 6 cell lithium-ion batteries

Pros of HP G56-129WM

Budget friendly

Good for home computing

In built DVD writer

Cons of HP G56-129WM

No HDMI port

Doesn’t comes with DDR2 DDR3 memory.

Thanks melody to point it out the typo. Though it was easy to make out what was meant.

Final thought

If you are looking full-size laptop at bargain price for simple home computing, then, HP G56-129 is upright performer. But you must think if you want to videochat with your friends or others then there are no options. Only you can do is to buy a USB webcam.

HP G56-129WM was on Walmart at extremely cheap price of $298 . So you are getting full fledged laptop at bargain price. The model number is XG598UA#ABA. Let us see how you will get benefited from the laptop. Let us start with its specification.

No related posts.

Notebook Reviews

  1. Peter
    November 26th, 2010 at 09:21 | #1

    Your review says this computer does not come with DDR2 memory. I just purcahsed this computer from Walmart and on the box it says it has a 3GB DDR2 memeory system–so I guess your review is wrong.

  2. Greg
    November 26th, 2010 at 12:25 | #2

    @Peter

    Actually Peter, his review doesn’t say that at all. It says the computer comes with DDR2 RAM as opposed to DDR3 RAM.

  3. Rehan
    November 26th, 2010 at 12:48 | #3

    @peter you are wrong. the review says:-
    “HP G56-129WM offers 3GB DDR2 RAM. Note that memory is DDR2 type not DDR3″

    careful reading is better than trolling…

  4. Ron
    November 26th, 2010 at 13:28 | #4

    @Peter
    Read the review retard. it says that it comes with ddr2 not ddr3. sounds like this guy doesn’t speak english very well and that is the problem. Read the review not the blurbs on the bottom only.

  5. Prescilla
    November 26th, 2010 at 14:06 | #5

    Peter was looking at this in the review:
    Cons of HP G56-129WM

    No HDMI port

    Doesn’t comes with DDR2 memory.

  6. mistery
    November 26th, 2010 at 14:23 | #6

    i just purchased it from walmart and there is a camera on the top of the screen ! but it is not working ugh

  7. Mizz Q
    November 26th, 2010 at 16:30 | #7

    @mistery
    yea i just bought one too and it does look like a camera but yea it aint working

  8. ashley
    November 26th, 2010 at 20:42 | #8

    does not have a webcam just has the setting for it

  9. r.m.shah
    November 27th, 2010 at 11:01 | #9

    i have to buy it should i buy?

  10. BOB
    December 3rd, 2010 at 20:52 | #10

    Yeah , all of you people should have read the article before lashing out at Peter because I was confused too, the reviewer made a typo. In the cons. Honestly I just bought the lap top and though it may not have the cons. I bought it for the pros. The cons I actually do not even know where they are. And yup I had a laptop like that too for the web cam before.

  11. Sam
    December 4th, 2010 at 16:51 | #11

    I bought this on Black Friday because the laptop I wanted at Bestbuy was sold out. I’ve had my old laptop for a few years and it’s slowing down alot, and the battery won’t charge to a level higher than 65% so I figured, instead of going and replacing the battery and doing whatever else to make it work again, it was time for a new laptop. When I saw this at Wal-mart after waiting 5 hours at Bestbuy for something I didn’t even get I rushed to get it. I will never do that ever again. Yes, this laptop is great for small things like: typing, browsing the internet and other various things that use little processing. If you are a gamer, don’t even bother considering this laptop. I play World of Warcraft, and while I wasn’t expecting this laptop to be amazing, or run the game amazingly, I was expecting it to atleast run it as a reasonable framerate at reasonable settings. My old laptop was a Compaq Presario F759WM With 1.5GBs of RAM and a 1.8GHz dual core processor. This laptop has a Intel Celeron SINGLE-Core 2.2GHz processor.. did not know at time of purchasing that it was a single core or I would have never bought it. At the lowest settings it lags horribly in any major city ALWAYS. I wasn’t expecting it to be amazing, but since my old laptop could handle world of warcraft at reasonable settings with a reasonable playable framerate of 15-30FPS in SW/IF/ORG,etc, I expected this laptop (having 3GBs of ram and being fairly new compared to my old laptop) to be able to play at atleast a reasonable level. If you want this laptop for browsing the internet, or typing up school work or similar tasks it’s great.. if you want it to play world of warcraft or other games even at low settings… don’t buy it. I can’t even find a compatible processor to replace the horrible Intel Celeron 900 that comes with this laptop. Very poor processor.

  12. paul
    December 7th, 2010 at 17:14 | #12

    I have two 1GB each DDR2 from my old HP lap. Can I add these modules to this computer boost this one to 4 or 5 GB.

  13. sundhar
    December 14th, 2010 at 06:49 | #13

    does it had a web cam or just a fit?

  14. Bryson
    December 18th, 2010 at 20:05 | #14

    Ok guys, It does not have a webcam, but it does have a mic. I am very satisfied with this PC. I got it at the walmart black friday sale and has had no problems or errors. It plays my games like left 4 dead 2 and world of warcraft and is super fast with decent memory. Opposed to my previous computers, like my e-machine that had the hard drive that completely fried within a year.

  15. Stef
    December 24th, 2010 at 15:02 | #15

    I assumed that there was a webcam included when I purchased it, as my dad was the one who had actually gone to the store I never looked at the info. How to you install a webcam into the included area? or due you have to use an external?

  16. Lexus
    December 25th, 2010 at 10:44 | #16

    i don’t see why thiss computer has the box where a webcam should be…..did they forget to finish cuilding the computer. i say this computers is slow. & i don’t know if is just mine or what. So there is a mic w/ no web cam?

  17. Chelsey
    December 27th, 2010 at 11:17 | #17

    okay so i got this laptop for Christmas and i LOVE it. I used my laptop last night and it died. I got up this morning came down and plugged it in. I was watching a movie on it and when i finished i realized that there was no little charger thing on the bottom where the battery is and no little light saying it was in and charging. Has anyone had this happen or is this just me? Please help!

  18. lissa
    December 27th, 2010 at 19:17 | #18

    @mistery
    its not a webcam its just a slot

  19. Chelsey
    December 27th, 2010 at 21:34 | #19

    so umm… nevermind. the plugin just overheated. I LOVE THIS LAPTOP!

  20. melody
    December 28th, 2010 at 12:18 | #20

    @Peter
    If you notice in the beginning [3rd paragraph] of the review it says that it comes only with:

    * * * 3GB DDR2 RAM. Note that memory is DDR2 type not DDR3 * * *

    and then when he summarizes the review and divides it into the:

    * * PRO’S and CON’S * *
    he types this:

    * * * Cons of HP G56-129WM * * *

    ——> * No HDMI port *

    ——>>> * Doesn’t comes with DDR2 memory * <<<——

    So, it seems very obvious that he doesn't proof read his reviews for typo's such as the one in this particular review……..or he has just blatently contradicted himself for the whole world to see and doesn't really care and in fact is laughing histerically, hoping you are more confused now than you were when puberty kicked in…heehee…probably a typographical error…when I notice I've made one of those awful mistakes and its too late to change it, I like to waste a little time and space by following the first message with a second one that only says…… OOPS!!! ….. lets everyone know that I am aware of the fact that I have finally flawed my more than perfect image….again :)

    I was looking up this notebook to see what the HP G56 was made of exactly….a friend was just given one by his boss… kinda like a 'good behavior bonus' or an 'atta boy'….I think it's a pretty functional laptop computer…..and even though he is basically 'computer illiterate', he is very happy with it because when he turns it on there are several topless cheerleaders staring at him….. so you see, really, this notebook is very functional in so many different ways….. ;)

  21. admin
    December 28th, 2010 at 15:27 | #21

    @melody
    melody – thanks for pointing the typo. Hope it was easy to make it out. The correction has been made in the article.

  22. Brandy
    January 1st, 2011 at 21:20 | #22

    I bought this laptop on Black Friday as well and was not aware that the thing was refurbished! I am PO’d. As soon as I set it up and tried to use it… when I hit my number keys a symbol comes up with the numbers. I called Hp to get support and thats when I found out it was refurbished.Definately not happy!

  23. Kayli
    January 9th, 2011 at 15:40 | #23

    @mistery
    Yeah, same here. My webcamn won’t work worth crap. I can’t access it or anything.

  24. January 24th, 2011 at 10:19 | #24

    If you like you can post this video of my Review of this laptop here on this site.

  25. Jasmin(x
    January 30th, 2011 at 15:33 | #25

    This Laptop Is Real Nice In All But Why Would It Say In The Manual That Its Has A Webcam When It Dosent Work :// Im Getting Reall Mad Because Of This Uhhh

  26. VICTOR
    May 22nd, 2011 at 10:51 | #26

    Hola, necesito saber si esta HP-G56 129WM viene con web cam

  27. May 30th, 2011 at 02:14 | #27

    Can you tell me that this dvd drive’s model? we have brand new dvd drive on our website: http://www.eshop-pc.com
    http://www.eshop-pc.com/laptop-optical-drivesdvd-drive-c-2.html

  28. socouture
    November 26th, 2011 at 21:00 | #28

    so i got this laptop black friday 2010 from walmart. it was $200. it doesn’t have a camera, or hdmi out; i would say its = to a stock economy car. great for basic computing. all these ppl are griping about a $200-300 laptop, when a good one can easily cost upwards of a grand ($1000). hell, you can’t even get a decent phone for $200-$300 bucks! get real!

  1. No trackbacks yet.