Home > Processors > Intel Celeron 900 Processor ( 2.2 GHz) Review

Intel Celeron 900 Processor ( 2.2 GHz) Review

September 5th, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

The Celeron 900 is Single Core a 2.2 GHz processor, built on 45 nm technology, and has 1 MB of L2 Cache. It  has 800 MHz of Front side bus.

The Celeron 900 support the 64 bit architecture. The 64 bit architecture allows the processor to access larger amounts of memory. Of course the software needs to take advantage of the 64 bit architecture.

The Celeron 900 is based upon Penryn-3M core, and was launched in the first quarter of 2009 to offer low cost processor for mobile computing. It does not offer hyperthreading. The Celeron 900 processors have TDP rating of 35 Watts.

The intel Celeron 900 fits in PGA478 socket, so, all motherboards having PGA478 socket should be able to support intel Celeron 900.

Th absence of the support for virtualization technology is another drawback of the Celeron 900. The  virtualization technology allows multiple operating systems to run simultaneously on an x86 computer – If this is implemented at hardware level – it is also known as  hardware virtualization. The hardware virtualization usually works great with two core processors.

Intel Celeron 900 Architecture

 

The diagram above, taken directly from the intel site explains the architecture of the Celeron 900 processor. The CPU is connected to the MCH or the memory controller hub. It is traditionally called the front side bus. The Front side Bus or the Memory Controller hub communicates to the memory.  You will also notice that this is different from the way the i3  and i5 processors communicate with  the memory. The i3 and i5 processors have memory controllers inbuilt, which results in faster memory transfer. This is another reason, you may like to prefer i3 and i5 processors over the celeron processors.

The memory controller hub or the North Bridge connects to another chip called I/O Controller hub ( traditionally called south bridge). The south bridge communicates with USB, Hard disk, optionally with PCI Express and all other IO.

In essence Intel Celeron 900 is a traditional processor good enough for a decent surfing experience , word processing and emailing – nothing more, nothing less.

How does Celeron 900 compare with the AMD’s Single core 2.3 GHz V140 processor ? Read Celeron 900 Vs AMD V140

The Celeron processors continue to appear in several notebooks appearing in today’s notebook – Compaq CQ62-214NR, for example has Intel Celeron 900 Processor.

Categories: Processors Tags:
  1. Lee Cimfel
    October 26th, 2010 at 10:31 | #1

    I love my cleron 900

  2. andre
    December 2nd, 2010 at 04:01 | #2

    Very basic yet fast enough to do the job.

  3. December 4th, 2010 at 16:00 | #3

    I love my intel chip

  4. January 13th, 2011 at 13:46 | #4

    Are you doing well with the celeron 900? I just bought a laptop with celeron 900 and i’m a bit afraid that i will be stuck somewhere.

  5. steve
    January 15th, 2011 at 19:18 | #5

    I like celeron 900, but i really want a dual-core processor.

  6. January 19th, 2011 at 12:32 | #6

    Interesting article. Nice CPU but someone knows how long is battery life compared to other CPU?

  7. Jeff
    February 22nd, 2011 at 20:17 | #7

    which is better atom455 or celeron 900 ?

  8. admin
    March 7th, 2011 at 03:44 | #8

    @Jeff
    Atom 455 is a slower processor at 1.66 GHz. It is an ultra low power processor suitable for small netbooks. AMD’s V Series V140 single core processor @2.3 GHz makes a better comparison.

  9. jack
    March 16th, 2011 at 13:46 | #9

    can you put a i3 or i5 core in a note book for with celeron

  10. jack
    March 16th, 2011 at 13:48 | #10

    celeron 900 2.2 GHz

  11. admin
    April 10th, 2011 at 17:31 | #11

    @jack

    jack – no this not possible, they have different architecture and have pin configuration.

  12. billybob
    September 22nd, 2012 at 04:30 | #12

    Are you all insane? The Celeron 900 is based off a Pentium 2, that’s bad enough but then they crippled and disabled some features to make it even worse, if you think this processor that struggles to do even the most basic things is god you are a moron.

  13. Crusty1149
    November 12th, 2012 at 09:55 | #13

    OK, so maybe I am a moron in billybob’s opinion but I really don’t care about other people’s opinions. My Celeron 900 based laptop performs flawlessly in the role for which it was purchased, a SPARE / service loaner computer. Friends with much more expensive computers have borrowed mine while theirs are in the shop. My Dell laptop works and theirs (HP,Sony,Toshiba) don’t. You don’t buy the $300.00 laptop and try to run the planet from it, you catch up on your twitter and email and be happy with a working computer.

  14. Upward Bound PreCalc Tutor
    February 17th, 2013 at 19:02 | #14

    Billy Bob, the Old original Celeron 900 was based off a Pentium 2 . The Celeron 900 that is being used in notebook computers today is a new 64 bit processor that is a step up from an intel atom, it is 2.2 ghz, not 900 mhz like the original one and was introduced in 2009. It is confusing, Intel gave this 2009 chip that name but it is not the Pentium III based {old 900’s were based off Pentium III’s not II’s but little better}. This new one is actually more like a Pentium 4 and is 64 bit but it is still a single core no hyperthreading piece of horse manure.
    It’s benefit is that it is very economical, only draws 35 watts and it
    may be great for a nongamer who needs to do email, check maps, write simple documents.

  15. ComputerTutor
    March 4th, 2015 at 23:47 | #15

    I have an eMachines E528-2325 laptop running Windows 7 Home Premium x64, and Ubuntu 14.10 LTS, and the Intel Celeron 900 seems to run great for it’s price! Ubuntu seems to run my games like Minecraft v1.8.3 better that Windows, only because Ubuntu works smoother with my 2 GB of RAM (wish I could afford 4 GB, or even just 3 GB). But with 2.2 GHz, it’s speed is good, but a dual core wouldn’t hurt. However, it gets the job done well, and, with about 4 GB of RAM, games are smoother, too. Plus, I have some software that I’ve been developing for a long while now, I’ve managed to tap my Intel Celeron 900 CPU up from 2.2 GHz to 2.5 GHz max, and tapped the fan speed up a bit. I soon plan to finish acquiring a better, more efficient cooling fan, I plan to tap it to 2.6 GHz, and since my software closely monitors CPU Temperature, Battery Usage, Speed, etc., and regulates Fan Speed and CPU speed to result in maximum efficiency, my software is better, yet more efficient than the defaults. Anyways, back on the Celeron 900, it gets the job done, and, with enough RAM, a bit of gaming too!!

  16. May 14th, 2015 at 19:20 | #16

    Therefore, people prefer multi-core processors over single core processors.

    The CPU (Central Processor Unit) handles all
    the ath and proceses to ruun programs and mostly keep “alive” your computer,
    annd the GPU (Graphics Processoor Unit) does its share with the image
    you see on your monitor. The end result is an increase in office
    productivity performance of 22% on average. Dell Vostro 3550 Pice Business Laptop Technical Specifications:.
    The site has all the main things you need to know to get
    started on your very ownn build.

  17. October 6th, 2016 at 18:04 | #17

    If you are interested in topic: how to earn rupees online
    without investment – you should read about Bucksflooder first