Home > Uncategorized > Issues with iPhone 4S

Issues with iPhone 4S

October 16th, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Issues with iPhone 4S

Initial sales of the iPhone 4S shows a phenomenal success. Media has reported that the sales figure has already crossed 4 million – exceeding the expectation and  the previous sales figure in the opening days of iPhone 4. By comparison the iPhone 4 had sold just 1.7 million units in the 1st week of the launch.

However, users have been a little disappointed with the performance of the iPhone 4. The iPhone 4S has two new features which makes it an improved version over the iPhone 4 – a better Apple A5 processor and the integration of voice recognition command using Siri ( In addition to fixing Antenna issue).

Siri Issues

Starredreviews.com took a quick look at the Siri voice recognition. The first impression was good. If you speak up clearly, for example “where I am”, it will take some time but will come up with a map showing you the location on google map. And you are spell bound to say “wow !!!”. And say “Find the Starbucks coffee” and it will come up with a list of the nearest starbucks coffee location.

However, the initial euphoria dies sooner than later. It turns out that the “Siri” is too slow to respond. It can be either that software or the processor not having enough power, but you feel irritates when it takes as long as 30 seconds and come back saying – sorry we did not understand it. You feel like cheated and you wished I had better typed it in search engine. Siri works on a very small set of useful voice based integrated searches.

As Phonedog puts it –

Even sitting in my apartment messing around with it, it was awkward talking to my phone. There are just some things that are ideally awesome, but in practical use, they’re a bit silly. Siri is one of those.

Slow 3G Speed

The 3G speed at sprint carrier is alarmingly slow as has been reported in the Sprint forums. A screenshot showing a download speed of 0.16 Mbps and an upload speed of 0.05 Mbps has been posted on the forum. It is too early to say, if this problem is due to the sudden increase in demand and if Sprint and fix it quickly.

Battery Life is bad

Phonedog has done some initial review of the iPhone 4S and has found it lacking in the battery life. It could be due to the faster dual core A5 processor  which could be drawing a lot of power. Phonedog writes…

…but in use, the battery has drained roughly twice as fast as the iPhone 4


Camera Focus Issue

It looks like the iPhone 4S repeatedly keeps trying to re-focus camera. It is not clear if this is an isolated issue or widespread.The camera issue has been reported in forums.

AT & T Activation Issue

Buyers have also complained activation issue with AT&T. Apple’s discussion forum is replete with the complaint about the activation issue.

Screen Tint Issue – The screen of the iPhone 4S has been reported to be not as good as that of iPhone 4. This is something you will be able to compare when you put the two iPhones side by side and compare them with same screen. Apparently the newer iPhone 4S has a greenish washed out display as compared to the older iPhone 4. Could be the result of cost cutting on screens ?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. asdf
    October 16th, 2011 at 18:47 | #1

    I have been trying endlessly to get it activated. Still no success. Very frustrating.

  2. Manju
    October 16th, 2011 at 18:56 | #2

    There is some Siri ous issue with iPhone. Have you ever worked on the prototype of a product ? Siri is like that. Has severe accent issue. You need to speak very very slow – slower than what you will type. It looks like Siri is only for the demo. Never meant to be a real product. Apple should become serious and test the product before launching toys.

  3. Ashley
    October 16th, 2011 at 19:03 | #3

    The activation issue has been created at Apple’s end. It is not a carrier issue.

  4. Tabloid
    October 18th, 2011 at 04:58 | #4

    To fix this Siri issue where it will not start,first turning Siri off in the iPhone’s settings, then going to Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings, and then turning Siri back on. Hope this will help.

  5. ThisIsStupid
    October 18th, 2011 at 13:55 | #5

    Please stop posting the nonsense on yahoo message boards and other places. If you do not know how to use an iPhone, do not write about it !!!

  6. CameraIssue
    October 19th, 2011 at 09:41 | #6

    I am frustrated with the Camera. I do not know if this a hardware or software issue. They should have tested the phone before shipping out.

  7. From Apple
    October 19th, 2011 at 09:55 | #7

    We are working on the Camera Issues reported. We request you to report your issues at the Apple discussion forum at

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3391947

    Thanks for your cooperation.

  8. Frustrated with Yellow tint
    October 19th, 2011 at 09:59 | #8

    In my case the LCD color is tinted yellow. It was suggested at Apple forum that this was due to the Epoxy between the glass and touch screen or something like that and they suggested keeping it on with full brightness. Well it has been two days now and still the same issue. 🙁

  9. Steve
    October 19th, 2011 at 10:13 | #9

    What a bunch of whiners. Love the 4s. Green screen, take off your green glasses or take it to APPLE and guess what, they’ll give you a new one, if its true. Sure, Siri is not the HAL 1000 but give it a couple of years. And 30 second response is just #$%%^&**. It may seem like 30 seconds to you, but its 2 seconds tops.

    Go buy an Android with a 5″ screen and put it in your purse.

  10. Joe
    October 19th, 2011 at 10:40 | #10

    Steve,

    Why dont you follow the Apple discussion board and tell the people the problems they are facing. Siri is a good toy for kids. Practical application – none. Apple should have waited for Siri to mature before integrating it in iPhone. Instead, they were too quick to mimic Android.

  11. alia43
    October 20th, 2011 at 06:40 | #11

    Look at the parts cost for Apple A5

    A5 processor $26
    Qualcom Chip $24
    Screeen – $20
    8 MP Camera $18
    Other components $20
    Battery – $4
    PCB + Assembly – $5
    Flash memory – $10
    Others ( mechanical, packaging) $10

    Total Cost less than $200

    Apple charges $499 – way overpriced than the BOM cost. On the top of it everything is outsourced – leading to unemployment in US.

  12. raman
    October 20th, 2011 at 08:35 | #12

    Yesterday when I was using SIRI, my Iphone 4S just crashed. It wouldn’t turn off, receive calls, nothing. I had to reboot it and it worked fine thereafter.

    Anyone else experience this problem?

  13. gizmodo
    October 20th, 2011 at 10:11 | #13

    iPhone 4S has 30% less talk time than the Motorola DROID RAZR

  14. gizmodo
    October 20th, 2011 at 10:13 | #14

    The DROID RAZR has 12.5 hours battery life when talking as compared to 8 Hours for Apple iPhone 4S. It looks like iPhone 4S is inferior when it comes to the talk time though the Video time is not as bad.

  15. AppleSucks
    October 22nd, 2011 at 09:21 | #15

    The iPhone 4S does not support 4G that many Samsung and Motorola phones have started coming up with. It is pathetic that they are lagging so much in technology.

  16. Siri Issues
    October 24th, 2011 at 05:40 | #16

    The Siri Founder leaves Apple. Just shows his “confidence” in Siri – the toy and the prototype. It was never meant to be a real life thing.

  17. Blackhate
    October 26th, 2011 at 10:14 | #17

    33% of the UK consumers were “disappointed” Apple’s new handset didn’t offer more features, according to an Internet survey.

    A survey of over 1,500 consumers shopping for a smartphone weeks after the iPhone 4S was introduced found just 29 percent of respondents said they buy the Apple smartphone. Of that group, 48 percent was interested in a BlackBerry, while 37 percent said they were thinking of buying an Android device. Source – http://www.cultofmac.com/126215/uk-consumers-disappointed-with-iphone-4s-survey/

  18. January 19th, 2012 at 20:51 | #18

    OMG you guys are bunch a kid, there is nothing wrong with apple I phone 4s, go get a life guys, there are more than seven i phone 4 s in my house and no one ever complained about any aspect of it, I love my siri, it really helps me out keep my important appointment great sense of humor. I don’t know what you guys are looking for, I HAD TO WAIT ALMOST THE WHOLE DAY ALONG WITH MANY PEOPLE TO GET OUR NEW I PHONE AND THE FUNNY THING I THAT WE ALL LOVE IT. ITS A GREAT BUY

  19. Blackhate
    January 20th, 2012 at 01:16 | #19

    johan,

    I am just wondering if you are paid by Apple to post here.