Home > Notebook Reviews > Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 Review

Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 Review

Lenovo Ideapad Z560

Quick Specification
Processor Option of i3-380M or i5-480M
4 GB
Hard Drive 500 GB
Screen 15.6 inch 1366 x 768 resolution 

Graphics by Intel HD

Others Bluetooth, Wifi, 1.3 MP Webcam


Pros Cons and Bottom Line
Pros – Lenovo Brand 

– Option of selecting right processor

– Slightly Expensive 

– Graphics Engine not good enough for gaming.

Bottomlline The Lenovo’s notebooks seem expensive for new purchases. Newer Sandy Bridge processors are more cost effective.

Lenovo has poor shopping experience

User Reviews and Feedback
Users generally have good review about the notebook

The IdeaPad Z560 notebook is on sale at lenovo’s own shopping website. The base model of lenovo i.e Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 – 09143AU which comes with core i3-380M comes for  $699.00 at the time of writing the review and the 091446U powered by the Core i5-480M is priced at $849.


The specification of  Lenovo Ideapad Z560

The Ideapad Z560 offers processors, ranges from Intel Core i3-350M to Intel core i5-480M processor.

If you plan to purchase it at Lenovo, it will ask you to add options in successive screens. A 2 year basic home warranty is available for $49.00 which may be worth taking if you plan to use the notebook heavily.

The PC personalization option may be done away with as it does not seem to add value. It will also ask you to add several software as option, most of which can be bypassed.

The buying experience is really bad at Lenovo website. It may actually turn away many potential buyers as it walks you through 20 or so screens asking you to add options, most of it you is never neededed.


Are you an expert in your field and wish to write for http://starredreviews.com ? Get paid $3 per article you write – check out the details at Writing for starredreviews.com

If you wish to find bargains on notebook, you may like to check latest daily deal to find the best deal.

The RAM it offers ranges from 3GB- 4GB depends on model user choose.

All four models of Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 comes with 15.6” high definition LED backlit display, which offers resolution of 1398*768p in 16:9 format.

All four models comprise of 6 cell li-ion battery and supported by Bluetooth Version 2.1 + EDR.

These models come with DVD burner.

The sleek and stylish all new Ideapad Z560 comes with contemporary chicklet style keyboard. It also have separate numeric keypad. The whole components are enclosed within cover having metallic outlook.

Other significant features it includes

  • User can enjoy Dolby stereo surround sound
  • The IdeaPad Z560 comprises of OneKey Theatre feature which allows you toggle between movie to web cruise mode.
  • For data recovery it comes with OneKey Rescue 7.0
  • It offers face recognition feature with Veriface software.

If you are looking for a budget friendly Laptop or notebook, Lenovo Z560 integrated with enough features which can perform general computing seamlessly. However if you need laptop for gaming purpose then the lenovo Ideapad Z560- 09143BU comes with NVIDIA GeForce 310M will be recommended. Ironically, the models don’t have wifi support only Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 – 09143BU has. This is very uncommon now a days. The lenovo IdeaPad Z560 has one year warranty.

  1. January 9th, 2011 at 12:33 | #1

    you can install ubuntu 10 easily from within windows only… just like any other application… you just need to give the swap partition space… rest the installer will manage on its own…

    its working fine for me… using lenovo z560 only…

  2. January 9th, 2011 at 12:38 | #2

    windows xp can be installed in the laptop… i did it myself… but the laptop gets heated up too much… windows 7 keeps the laptop cool… atleast i can say this for z560.

  3. ABY
    January 12th, 2011 at 23:12 | #3

    Awesome Performance

  4. kunal
    January 24th, 2011 at 11:14 | #4

    i bought this ideapad before a month nd it is really vry cool…gud in performance,sound,graphic..everthng…keys are also soft….thk u lenovo….

  5. Srinivasa murthy palakodeti
    January 25th, 2011 at 05:40 | #5

    @Mohit Mundhra
    hi i am willing to buy the same laptop so pls tell me briefly whether it works with the windows xp or not. Because am a fan of windows xp so pls tell me ……

    wil it cause any trouble if we install any pirated xp versions ?

    thanz in advance for seeing my query

    pls send me reply to my email as i dont visit this website again and again

    theres no internet connection for me . now am replying u through netcafe..

    hope u understood my problem .
    have a wonderful day!

  6. Navin
    January 31st, 2011 at 03:02 | #6

    Got Lenovo Z560 ideaPad this weekend. It has Intel i5-480m processor(2.6GHz, Hyperthreading, 3MB L3 Cache, TurboBoost), 4GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Intel HD Graphics, Broadcomm Wifi, Realtek Ethernet adapter, Blutooth 2.1, 1.3 Webcam , 3 USB ports(1 eSata), 1 HDMI Port, 1 Express card slot, 5-1 Card Reader, DVD RW, WLED 15.6″ Screen. Free Dos. Installed Windows 7.
    Ran Windows Experience Index Program and got 4.5 rating which was only due to Intel graphics. Every other component viz. processors, RAM etc. had rating above 5.5. Laptop looks rugged. I only dislike the outer glossy finish which easily gets exposed to smears. Look wise its a beauty with a silver line running between the black enclosures of the laptop. Keypad is a luxury while you type. All this days I was missing the numeric pad on my previous laptops but now that also is there and I feel happy when I have to open up the calculator and do some calculations.
    Coming to multimedia, I watched ‘Inception’ on it and the experience was awesome with Dolby sound which was crisp and clear. For testing music ran songs from ‘Roza’ and got the ultimate feel of sound.
    Now for work, downloaded and installed JDK, Android SDK and it was fast to install them. Ran my application on Android emulator and it came up smoothly. My Compaq F700 was crying when I ran the android emulator and got dead last week :(. Turned on some Windows features like IIS, ASP, ASP.Net and they were up and running in a minute.

    So much of this for Rs.36500 at CTC Secunderabad.

  7. poorva
    February 2nd, 2011 at 09:01 | #7

    I had purchased my lenovo z560 some 5-6 months ago. But its blue-tooth doesn’t seem to be working after formatting. Please tell me specifically what needs to be installed?

    Also its camera works only with yahoo msngr, and not while off-line, from the very starting. What should be done for that?

  8. Abhishek
    February 6th, 2011 at 02:20 | #8

    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working on full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  9. Abhishek
    February 6th, 2011 at 02:21 | #9

    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working with full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  10. Madhu
    February 8th, 2011 at 05:03 | #10

    Ha ha ha Z560 has only 10M/100M LAN speed
    iam fooled after buying this…
    now present normal computer is having 1G LAN
    check before u buy guys

  11. Christine
    February 10th, 2011 at 06:59 | #11

    Caveat emptor – or LET THE BUYER BEWARE!
    If you plan to purchase this laptop from Lenovo directly please be aware that they will not guarantee price. I purchased this laptop on a Thursday, the following Monday the exact same model was listed on their website for $200 less. Of course I called Customer Service (In India!) and asked for the discounted price – I had not received my order yet – and was told they do not give credit for price adjustments. I was also told if I cancelled my order I was going to be charged a 15% restocking fee because (as they told me) my order had already been shipped. Well it is now two weeks later and it still has not arrived. so is it a good laptop – right now I can’t answer that question, but I do wonder how supportive their tech support will be if their Customer Service is so wanting! My advice – watch the website for awhile to get their best price.

  12. Abhishek
    March 2nd, 2011 at 00:33 | #12

    does Lenovo Supports stereoscopic vision????????? PLZ replY

  13. March 4th, 2011 at 23:05 | #13

    no it also has intel i5 460m and now it has more than four models in online stores

  14. Abhishek
    March 11th, 2011 at 10:23 | #14

    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working with full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  15. nikhil
    March 21st, 2011 at 03:13 | #15

    Dear Sir,\r\n
    Machine: Lenovo Ideapad Z560 (Blue Screen) Cannot start computer

    I had dual operating system XP & Win 7 on my computer, while using Internet (XP System) I got Memory Dump Error system restarted automatically, I refer Internnet for the same problem, I got the information that this was happened do to wrong BIOS and increasing capacity of virtual memory. So I increase the virtual memory and tried to install BIOS for XP (power adapter was properly inserted) during that installation suddenly I got blue screen error and system restarted automatically. I dont know what was happened to my system and both the operating system XP & Win 7 are not running and system will automatically get restart by Blue screen error.

    Pls. help me to get my system factory defalt.


  16. Chetan
    June 11th, 2011 at 07:44 | #16

    I want to install dual OS i.e. combination of window 7 and fedora on lenovo Z560.
    Please help me With the above said

  17. vikram
    August 10th, 2011 at 07:48 | #17

    I am using Lenovo ideapad Z560 with dual OS. i.e. windows 7 & fedora 14..
    Both OS are working good on laptop..
    For dual OS you need to install windos 7 first then other OS.

  18. JGC
    August 22nd, 2011 at 09:03 | #18

    bought z560 in March. could not get it to enter sleep mode after accessing web content. returned for warranty service, still has the same problem. very dissatisfied with Lenovo support. I think this is a lemon. awaiting a response to my escalation to get my money back. lot of money for poor performance

  19. October 28th, 2011 at 22:09 | #19

    Thanks for sharing this. I am using Lenovo Z560 with two OS and it’s doing good. The device has a stylish and cool look.

Comment pages
1 2 3 1327