Home > Notebook Reviews > Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 Review

Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 Review

Lenovo Ideapad Z560
 

Quick Specification
Processor Option of i3-380M or i5-480M
RAM
4 GB
Hard Drive 500 GB
Screen 15.6 inch 1366 x 768 resolution 

Graphics by Intel HD

Others Bluetooth, Wifi, 1.3 MP Webcam

 

Pros Cons and Bottom Line
Pros - Lenovo Brand 

- Option of selecting right processor

Cons
- Slightly Expensive 

- Graphics Engine not good enough for gaming.

Bottomlline The Lenovo’s notebooks seem expensive for new purchases. Newer Sandy Bridge processors are more cost effective.

Lenovo has poor shopping experience

User Reviews and Feedback
Users generally have good review about the notebook

The IdeaPad Z560 notebook is on sale at lenovo’s own shopping website. The base model of lenovo i.e Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 – 09143AU which comes with core i3-380M comes for  $699.00 at the time of writing the review and the 091446U powered by the Core i5-480M is priced at $849.

 

The specification of  Lenovo Ideapad Z560

The Ideapad Z560 offers processors, ranges from Intel Core i3-350M to Intel core i5-480M processor.

If you plan to purchase it at Lenovo, it will ask you to add options in successive screens. A 2 year basic home warranty is available for $49.00 which may be worth taking if you plan to use the notebook heavily.

The PC personalization option may be done away with as it does not seem to add value. It will also ask you to add several software as option, most of which can be bypassed.

The buying experience is really bad at Lenovo website. It may actually turn away many potential buyers as it walks you through 20 or so screens asking you to add options, most of it you is never neededed.

 

Are you an expert in your field and wish to write for http://starredreviews.com ? Get paid $3 per article you write – check out the details at Writing for starredreviews.com

If you wish to find bargains on notebook, you may like to check latest daily deal to find the best deal.

The RAM it offers ranges from 3GB- 4GB depends on model user choose.

All four models of Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 comes with 15.6” high definition LED backlit display, which offers resolution of 1398*768p in 16:9 format.

All four models comprise of 6 cell li-ion battery and supported by Bluetooth Version 2.1 + EDR.

These models come with DVD burner.

The sleek and stylish all new Ideapad Z560 comes with contemporary chicklet style keyboard. It also have separate numeric keypad. The whole components are enclosed within cover having metallic outlook.

Other significant features it includes

  • User can enjoy Dolby stereo surround sound
  • The IdeaPad Z560 comprises of OneKey Theatre feature which allows you toggle between movie to web cruise mode.
  • For data recovery it comes with OneKey Rescue 7.0
  • It offers face recognition feature with Veriface software.

If you are looking for a budget friendly Laptop or notebook, Lenovo Z560 integrated with enough features which can perform general computing seamlessly. However if you need laptop for gaming purpose then the lenovo Ideapad Z560- 09143BU comes with NVIDIA GeForce 310M will be recommended. Ironically, the models don’t have wifi support only Lenovo IdeaPad Z560 – 09143BU has. This is very uncommon now a days. The lenovo IdeaPad Z560 has one year warranty.

No related posts.

Notebook Reviews , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Bala
    August 2nd, 2010 at 04:27 | #1

    Yes.. Indeed a Good Model with best looks.. I bought this yesterday and i readily fell in love with the model and it works really very cool..

    Note: getting some error when i tried to install Linux but works really awesome with Windows…

  2. Purnachandra
    August 3rd, 2010 at 13:08 | #2

    @Bala
    Hi Bala
    I am planning to purchase this laptop. Could you tell me how is the performance, build quality etc. And what’s with the review here saying not all the models have WiFi. Does your have wifi or you had to purchase a wireless csrd. Let me know. Thanks in advance buddy
    Regards,
    Purnachandra

  3. Yulia
    August 7th, 2010 at 10:40 | #3

    i bought this about a month ago, and i’m very happy with it. it’s design is way better than most other lenovos i’ve seen (they all look like a box, this one is actually pleasant to look at) it also works very well. i got one with the intel core i5 processor- works great. also, i was worried the touchpad might be uncomfortable- but it works great.

  4. Yulia
    August 7th, 2010 at 10:40 | #4

    @Purnachandra
    mine came with a wireless card.

  5. Purnachandra
    August 9th, 2010 at 08:49 | #5

    @Yulia
    Thanks Yulia. And how is the battery back-up. I am going to finalize on ths laptop this weekend. Did you purchase it online on lenovo website or did you purchase it a retail store.

  6. vaibhav
    August 13th, 2010 at 02:36 | #6

    hey i would like to know if z560 works with windows xp efficiently or not?

  7. SRINIVAS
    August 22nd, 2010 at 21:12 | #7

    HI,
    WL I JUS WANNA KNW WATS THE ACTUAL COST OF Z560-906 MODEL…?
    2.CAM WORKS ON LINE /ON MESSENGER ONLY…?
    3.WINDOW XP EFFICIENTLY OR NOT…..?

  8. –toMmy–
    August 24th, 2010 at 03:13 | #8

    HI all!!
    well i am going to buy this laptop and I’m a bit confused about the price and the specification of it. well I need help, please help me. and does it work well with Open source OS ?

  9. farman shah
    September 1st, 2010 at 06:22 | #9

    this is d no. 1 brand of World. coz its service,perfomance,quility is very good. n resently d new series they lounched Z it has very gud battary lyf n looks.

  10. September 15th, 2010 at 17:52 | #10

    I bought laptop for my wife and I. I ended up with a great deal at $550USD with free shipping. I also used a promo code FUNFACTOR to get a bigger discount. My only concern was that it only comes with 3GB memory while all other laptops in this price range come with 4 GB of memory. I went with this laptop because of awesome reviews and great help from customer service.

  11. September 18th, 2010 at 03:44 | #11

    @Aj
    From which site you purchased

  12. Mohit Mundhra
    September 20th, 2010 at 03:29 | #12

    feeling good to buy one… got one this saturday… the backpack carry case provided along with the laptop is really good… :)

  13. sk
    September 25th, 2010 at 23:26 | #13

    Has anyone purchased 09143AU model? does it come with wireless card.I do not understand the review here saying not every model comes with wi-fi support.that kind of sounds odd for me..no wi-fi in a laptop these days?can anyone confirm if this model has wireless? am planning to buy this laptop this weekend…thank you

  14. mohit jain
    October 3rd, 2010 at 08:54 | #14

    i want tnd display of this lenovo z560 i5 processor

  15. Princess Rupz!
    October 4th, 2010 at 08:19 | #15

    Hey!
    I bought Z560 i5 processor yesterday. And am quiet loving it. I just bought it for the fun purpose but it seems more interesting than that! It looks great too.

  16. some random dude
    October 17th, 2010 at 20:37 | #16

    seems cool :)

  17. Alkesh
    October 18th, 2010 at 00:59 | #17

    I have seen touch pad problme with lenovo. i dont think Lenovo is not good that other

  18. ankit
    October 19th, 2010 at 10:39 | #18

    hello.
    tomorrow,i m going to buy a lenovo z-series, so could you pls tel me the guratee and warranty and services of the company.is it worth to buy it. pls do rply..

  19. Parminder Singh
    October 27th, 2010 at 04:37 | #19

    I hv purchased z560-59-054397, i m happy that i hv chosen this its working really very well, well controolled by my mobile phone, its in actual a nice laptop, specially its track pad is awesome

  20. November 1st, 2010 at 08:44 | #20

    i buy lenovo ideapad 560 6 days ago i got some problems in sound wat can i do give me some suggestions

  21. Parminder Singh
    November 6th, 2010 at 10:25 | #21

    whats ur problem, actually sound is gud but volume has some limits

  22. kumar siddharth
    November 8th, 2010 at 03:27 | #22

    i am an engg student and i bought this laptop a few days back and fell in love with all its specifications..battery backup is good…look is good…softwares that are not supported by other high cost laptop are well supported by this one…thanks lenovo:)

  23. sumanth
    November 8th, 2010 at 23:20 | #23

    @Purnachandra
    I bought it last week.It’s good.sound is fine,it’s fast.but the battery backup isn’t that good.rest features were fine

  24. Arvind
    November 10th, 2010 at 21:49 | #24

    I bought z560 laptop one month back. I have removed the partitions as c drive was 421 GB. While installing OS again I was not able to enter the BIOS. After discussing the issue with support, they advised me to submit laptop to service center. Service center guys says there is some problem with hard disk after 4 days. Now since 3 weeks they are not able to manage hard disk. So it looks very worst service. Sent mails to lenovo support but they are also not responding.

  25. ravi
    November 21st, 2010 at 11:08 | #25

    hey bro , i baught this laptop just a month ago and frankly speaking it is awesome. i took an i5 and 1 gb 350m nvidia..it isimply is awesome.. and also unlike athoer lappy where keypad becomes a problem this laptop got separate keys so simply the keys are too good..

    also it is playing latest games such as dead space and pes 2010 easily at high def…

    all to all a good one …. and hey if u wanna see movies and all u better see them on vlc cuz generally sound is a bit low ( almost all lappys same)..

  26. ravi
    November 21st, 2010 at 11:09 | #26

    @Arvind
    thats because , windows 7 in built does not allow u to install any otther os or the same… u need to first install vm ware and then go for fresh installations

  27. GURU
    November 24th, 2010 at 03:37 | #27

    Hai guys I am a designer i have plan to go for z560, please suggest is it support autocadd , pro-e ,unigraphics.??????????????? i am bit of confused againsed this laptop.

  28. Amol Gholap
    November 25th, 2010 at 07:32 | #28

    Hi, i m a designer,pl suggest me wether lenovo lap top is good Z560 for running UG and Catia. If not lenovo than pl suggest me other brand also and the conf pl.

  29. shihouin
    December 2nd, 2010 at 23:39 | #29

    CAN SOMEONE DO A FULL REVIEW VIDEO AND POST IT ON YOUTUBE FOR THE IDEAPAD Z560

  30. Sunny
    December 3rd, 2010 at 01:26 | #30

    Any of u have lenovo z560-09143HU model ????

    Can nay one tell me about this model ……

    Is this model come with international warranty( GLOBAL warranty ) ?

  31. Dinesh
    December 11th, 2010 at 08:01 | #31

    Hi can anyone know how to install linux in lenovo z560?
    I had tried many times but i installed linux only in text mode. Its not possible to install in graphical mode. Help me if anyone knows…
    thanks

  32. santhosh kumar
    December 11th, 2010 at 09:37 | #32

    hi,am bought lenovo 560 4mnths ago,i become very big fan of it,but when i bought this,the dealer was not give windows 7 genuine os…am installing w7 3times for each one month…..so i equire genuine os..what am do…..give me suggestion pls……

  33. Sunny
    December 11th, 2010 at 10:03 | #33

    Any of u have lenovo z560-09143HU model ????

    Is this model come with international warranty( GLOBAL warranty ) ?

  34. Soto
    December 18th, 2010 at 22:15 | #34

    Hey Sunny

    Im getting the HU model as well after i tested it out. I know the VP of the China sector of the Lenovo since he is an alum of my college.

    The HU model when i tested it was fantastic. Ran smooth, efficiently, and fast. I play Total War a lot on my old ACER Aspire 6530 and when i played it for the first time on the Z560 i was blown away.

    Definitely a keeper in my mind. Will be holding onto this laptop for a long time until technology forces me to upgrade to the i7 processor.

  35. shihouin
    December 19th, 2010 at 13:14 | #35

    download the windows 7 ultimate and use the serial look for it at thepiratebay.org look for the one with the most seed@santhosh kumar

  36. sekhar
    December 20th, 2010 at 09:47 | #36

    @ravi
    what was the cost of it?

  37. rudro
    December 25th, 2010 at 15:09 | #37

    i bought it today in kolkata (west bengal).. mine is i3 2gb 500gb and 512mb nvdia(with cuda)… 34.5k .. i guess this one is a really good deal….

    very eye catching….. but catches finger print very easyly too…

    and yes it comes with global warranty

  38. Random
    December 26th, 2010 at 15:49 | #38

    Hi thinking of buying z560 can i install windows 7 ultimate on it, even though it comes pre installed with windows 7 home premium? And if so does it affect the drivers on the laptop, or will they all work and run smoothly? Need an answer soon please!

  39. jai
    December 29th, 2010 at 06:45 | #39

    hi guys!!
    i purchased z560 last week, with foll specs. :
    i5,4gb ram,1gb nvidia graphic card, 500gb hdd.

    i became a fan on d first day.
    u cannot install win xp because no i-series processor supports it. only win 7(dis goes for other laptop brands as well).

    if nebody wants to buy dis laptop then go 4 d specs i mentioned.
    dis model has wi-fi and many more features which r exclusive to lenovo laptops. and yes its cheaper dan other lappy with these specs.
    it cost me 47000 ( after a lot of negotiation)
    goodluck :)

  40. Jared
    December 31st, 2010 at 12:02 | #40

    hi guys, i want to buy Lenovo z560, but i hear something bad about wifi problem- doesnt connect to any network? Is that true or not? Thank you for answer.

  41. January 9th, 2011 at 12:33 | #41

    @Dinesh
    you can install ubuntu 10 easily from within windows only… just like any other application… you just need to give the swap partition space… rest the installer will manage on its own…

    its working fine for me… using lenovo z560 only…

  42. January 9th, 2011 at 12:38 | #42

    @jai
    windows xp can be installed in the laptop… i did it myself… but the laptop gets heated up too much… windows 7 keeps the laptop cool… atleast i can say this for z560.

  43. ABY
    January 12th, 2011 at 23:12 | #43

    Awesome Performance

  44. kunal
    January 24th, 2011 at 11:14 | #44

    i bought this ideapad before a month nd it is really vry cool…gud in performance,sound,graphic..everthng…keys are also soft….thk u lenovo….

  45. Srinivasa murthy palakodeti
    January 25th, 2011 at 05:40 | #45

    @Mohit Mundhra
    hi i am willing to buy the same laptop so pls tell me briefly whether it works with the windows xp or not. Because am a fan of windows xp so pls tell me ……

    wil it cause any trouble if we install any pirated xp versions ?

    thanz in advance for seeing my query

    pls send me reply to my email as i dont visit this website again and again

    theres no internet connection for me . now am replying u through netcafe..

    hope u understood my problem .
    have a wonderful day!

  46. Navin
    January 31st, 2011 at 03:02 | #46

    Got Lenovo Z560 ideaPad this weekend. It has Intel i5-480m processor(2.6GHz, Hyperthreading, 3MB L3 Cache, TurboBoost), 4GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Intel HD Graphics, Broadcomm Wifi, Realtek Ethernet adapter, Blutooth 2.1, 1.3 Webcam , 3 USB ports(1 eSata), 1 HDMI Port, 1 Express card slot, 5-1 Card Reader, DVD RW, WLED 15.6″ Screen. Free Dos. Installed Windows 7.
    Ran Windows Experience Index Program and got 4.5 rating which was only due to Intel graphics. Every other component viz. processors, RAM etc. had rating above 5.5. Laptop looks rugged. I only dislike the outer glossy finish which easily gets exposed to smears. Look wise its a beauty with a silver line running between the black enclosures of the laptop. Keypad is a luxury while you type. All this days I was missing the numeric pad on my previous laptops but now that also is there and I feel happy when I have to open up the calculator and do some calculations.
    Coming to multimedia, I watched ‘Inception’ on it and the experience was awesome with Dolby sound which was crisp and clear. For testing music ran songs from ‘Roza’ and got the ultimate feel of sound.
    Now for work, downloaded and installed JDK, Android SDK and it was fast to install them. Ran my application on Android emulator and it came up smoothly. My Compaq F700 was crying when I ran the android emulator and got dead last week :( . Turned on some Windows features like IIS, ASP, ASP.Net and they were up and running in a minute.

    So much of this for Rs.36500 at CTC Secunderabad.

  47. poorva
    February 2nd, 2011 at 09:01 | #47

    Hii
    I had purchased my lenovo z560 some 5-6 months ago. But its blue-tooth doesn’t seem to be working after formatting. Please tell me specifically what needs to be installed?

    Also its camera works only with yahoo msngr, and not while off-line, from the very starting. What should be done for that?

  48. Abhishek
    February 6th, 2011 at 02:20 | #48

    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working on full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  49. Abhishek
    February 6th, 2011 at 02:21 | #49

    Hello,
    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working with full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  50. Madhu
    February 8th, 2011 at 05:03 | #50

    Ha ha ha Z560 has only 10M/100M LAN speed
    iam fooled after buying this…
    now present normal computer is having 1G LAN
    check before u buy guys

  51. Christine
    February 10th, 2011 at 06:59 | #51

    Caveat emptor – or LET THE BUYER BEWARE!
    If you plan to purchase this laptop from Lenovo directly please be aware that they will not guarantee price. I purchased this laptop on a Thursday, the following Monday the exact same model was listed on their website for $200 less. Of course I called Customer Service (In India!) and asked for the discounted price – I had not received my order yet – and was told they do not give credit for price adjustments. I was also told if I cancelled my order I was going to be charged a 15% restocking fee because (as they told me) my order had already been shipped. Well it is now two weeks later and it still has not arrived. so is it a good laptop – right now I can’t answer that question, but I do wonder how supportive their tech support will be if their Customer Service is so wanting! My advice – watch the website for awhile to get their best price.

  52. Abhishek
    March 2nd, 2011 at 00:33 | #52

    does Lenovo Supports stereoscopic vision????????? PLZ replY

  53. March 4th, 2011 at 23:05 | #53

    no it also has intel i5 460m and now it has more than four models in online stores

  54. Abhishek
    March 11th, 2011 at 10:23 | #54

    Hello,
    does any one knows how gta 4 and nfs undercover would be in lenovo Z560 series……….does these games could really be working with full anti-aliasing…….please do reply..

  55. nikhil
    March 21st, 2011 at 03:13 | #55

    Dear Sir,\r\n
    Machine: Lenovo Ideapad Z560 (Blue Screen) Cannot start computer

    I had dual operating system XP & Win 7 on my computer, while using Internet (XP System) I got Memory Dump Error system restarted automatically, I refer Internnet for the same problem, I got the information that this was happened do to wrong BIOS and increasing capacity of virtual memory. So I increase the virtual memory and tried to install BIOS for XP (power adapter was properly inserted) during that installation suddenly I got blue screen error and system restarted automatically. I dont know what was happened to my system and both the operating system XP & Win 7 are not running and system will automatically get restart by Blue screen error.

    Pls. help me to get my system factory defalt.

    Nikhil
    nskmgt@gmail.com

  56. Chetan
    June 11th, 2011 at 07:44 | #56

    Hi
    I want to install dual OS i.e. combination of window 7 and fedora on lenovo Z560.
    Please help me With the above said

  57. vikram
    August 10th, 2011 at 07:48 | #57

    Hi,
    I am using Lenovo ideapad Z560 with dual OS. i.e. windows 7 & fedora 14..
    Both OS are working good on laptop..
    For dual OS you need to install windos 7 first then other OS.

  58. JGC
    August 22nd, 2011 at 09:03 | #58

    bought z560 in March. could not get it to enter sleep mode after accessing web content. returned for warranty service, still has the same problem. very dissatisfied with Lenovo support. I think this is a lemon. awaiting a response to my escalation to get my money back. lot of money for poor performance

  59. October 28th, 2011 at 22:09 | #59

    Thanks for sharing this. I am using Lenovo Z560 with two OS and it’s doing good. The device has a stylish and cool look.

  1. No trackbacks yet.