Home > Digital Camera Reviews > Nikon Coolpix S205 12MP Digital Camera Review

Nikon Coolpix S205 12MP Digital Camera Review

November 23rd, 2010

If you are looking for point to shoot digital camera with good resolution then wait for Black Friday. You will get 12 mega pixels Nikon Coolpix S205 digital camera which cost you close to $80 at Target.

Nikon Coolpix S205 comes with 1/2.3″ CCD Sensor of 12 megapixels. The image resolution provide by the camera is 4000*3000p,  so you can make stunning larger prints of your shots.

When comes to zoom, Nikon Coolpix S205 digital camera offers 4x optical zoom and digital zoom of 4X thus effective zoom is 16x which is good for point to shoot camera. It offers various shooting mode like Party/Indoor, Museum, Food, Sports Photography, Documents, Beach, Snow/Sand, Night Portrait, Night Scene, Fireworks, Portrait, Panorama, Back Light, Dusk/Dawn, Landscape. So the camera is bit helpful for those who are novice in photography.

Nikon Coolpix S205 comes with 2.7” Color TFT LCD view finder with antiglare technology so that you can focus on your shot properly. The display let user to set Image Size, ISO Setting,  Shooting Mode, Focus Area, Shutter Speed. It also has zoom indicator and one can see number of pictures it can shoot after every shot user take.

The shutter speed Nikon Coolpix S205 comes with ranges from 1 – 1/2000 so one can take images of various situation. User can take images of moving object or can take shot by freezing the action. To stop blurring of images it comes with Electronic Image Stabilization. When operating in continuous mode, the Nikon coolpix camera delivers 9frames per second of shooting.

Nikon Coolpix S205 also offers various ISO settings from ISO 200-6400. However the less impressive point of the NIKON S205 is its aperture range which ranges from f/3.2 – f/5.9. Thus there is less chance of getting background of photo with clarity especially if the user is novice.

The inbuilt storage capacity of the camera is 50MB and it can take 200 photos on single battery charge.

Nikon coolpix S205 comes with vibration Reduction Technology, Motion Detection, Blink Detection, Face Detection technology along with image stabilization technology, even a beginner can take photo with clarity.

The file format it supports is JPEG, JPEG motion, avi and wav.

The ports include USB 2.0 ports through which you can connect any USB supported external device.

The storage format include SD card and SDHC card. However one has to buy it separately.

Finally if you grab NIKON Coolpix S205  at discount rate then you are a winner because it incorporates all features which a point to shoot camera should has.

No related posts.

Digital Camera Reviews

  1. Carolyn Little
    November 27th, 2010 at 23:01 | #1

    I just purchased a Nikon Coolpix, S205. The price was great, and I had to stay within my price range given to me for my birthday. After reading the above review, I am worried about the statement about the back ground clarity—even for a novice. This will be my second digital camera, and I am now wondering if I shoud not open the box, but maybe take it back to the store? Any advise out there?
    Thanks, Carolyn

  2. Mark
    November 30th, 2010 at 09:45 | #2

    Carolyn:
    I bought one for my daughter for Christmas. She’s only 7 and seems to have an interest in photographing everything. I get tired of handing her one of my more complicated (and expensive!) cameras everytime she wants to “take pictures” so it was hard to pass up on the $79 Black Friday deal at Target!
    One one hand, I feel like Nikon won’t put their name on total junk. On the other hand, Nikon doesn’t seem to show the camera on their website. I’m fairly certain this was a camera they made to meet a certain price point specifically for the Christmas sales. That doesn’t make it necessarily bad. It is a nicely compact feature-rich camera for not a lot of money. I’m sure that in the right circumstances, a wide range of photography skills can get acceptable results from this camera. It’s limitations will become apparent in certain circumstances, however. To address your concern about “background clarity”, the reviewer took issue to the limited aperture range (to compare, a consumer grade SLR zoom lens might range from f3.5-f22 or higher. The result in this Coolpix will be a relatively small “depth of field” in photographs. For example, if taking a photo of a person who in positioned in the foreground relatively close to the camera, things that would be considered to be at “infinity” (i.e “background” items) may be out of focus. Sometimes this is desireable (you may want to blur the background to accentuate the subject). Sometimes, however, if the intent is to show the subject in its setting (such as in a beautiful landscape) you may want a clear background. My guess is that the problem isn’t as great as the review makes it sound – and as a “work around” you can always keep the main subject a bit further from the camera to keep it all in focus. Another point, is that less expensive cameras (and less expensive lenses that are part of them) tend to have a greater problem with close focusing so that background blur is probably not the real problem, but rather it might be difficult getting the background to blur when you might want it too (and if you wanted to, you could always change this after the fact using editing software). So the real issue here is the lack of flexibility in the camera, which is just something you will need to deal with in any camera even close to this price point. In the long run, I say its a decent deal and unless your are a serious photographer, you will probably get a good bit of enjoyment from it. Just don’t forget the memory card! ;-)
    Best wishes,
    Mark

  3. Lisa
    December 1st, 2010 at 10:54 | #3

    can anyone tell me, when you take a video with this camera,can you play it back on the camera and hear the voices?

  4. Mark
    December 1st, 2010 at 12:50 | #4

    According to the “Technical Details” listed here: http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-Coolpix-Digital-Camera-Optical/dp/B0044DJVGS
    it says playback modes include “video with sound”. I’m fairly sure quality of video and audio would be fairly poor quality though – suitable, perhaps, for YouTube.

  5. Meera
    December 1st, 2010 at 19:47 | #5

    Same audio problem with mine as well…Is there any special setting required…Please let us know!!

  6. Mark
    December 2nd, 2010 at 07:21 | #6

    According to the manual here: http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/coolpix/S205_EN.pdf it should work. As the one I bought is for a Christmas gift I have a few weeks to go before I get it out and play with it. The microphone appears to be located next to the lens – is there any chance you had a finger over it during recording?
    Again – I wouldn’t expect great quality video. According to the manual the default setting is for the optical zoom to be disabled during video recording (the digital zoom works up to 2x). It can be turned on but they they warn that the noise of the zoom can interfere with the sound on the video. :-/
    I have a Sony digital camera that shoots acceptable video, but really for better quality video, I use a dedicated video camera.

  7. Hoshi
    December 30th, 2010 at 02:34 | #7

    @Lisa
    yes

  8. Jen
    January 29th, 2011 at 14:56 | #8

    The first time I hooked this camera up to my computer it shut down and wouldn’t turn on again. I called technical support and got some guy in India who tried to convince me it was because I had plugged into the USB ports on the right side of my laptop as opposed to the nonexistent ports on the left side. Then I was encouraged by Mr. India to pay for shipping to send it off to be fixed and possibly pay for the repairs – all of which would probably cost more than I paid for the camera in the first place. Very much regret this purchase.

  9. January 1st, 2012 at 18:04 | #9

    Great Article, excellent writing and reasoning

  10. kari
    September 17th, 2012 at 07:19 | #10

    when it shut down, a picture of a camera came onto your computer. You had to click that. It always shuts down. Its suppose to.@Digital Audio Recorder

  11. January 29th, 2014 at 11:16 | #11

    Aw,this was a very nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to create a very good
    article… but what cann I say… I put thjngs
    off a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.