Home > Uncategorized > OTP for ICICI Bank

OTP for ICICI Bank

If you log in from a location very different from where you usually log in, you may be asked for One Time Password by ICICI Bank of India. One Time Password is an extra layer of security measure introduced by ICICI Bank to prevent online fraud.

One time password is only required when unusual activity is seen. It is not normally observed. There are two ways destinations where you can receive the OTP

1. At the email you registered with ICICI Bank
2. At the mobile phone number you registered with ICICI Bank.

The OTP is typically triggered in the following scenario. You are a NRI who typically resicde in US and access the bank from US. The ICICI Bank may recignize the IP Address where you log in. Now you move to India on vacation and need to use your ICICI Bank for making a train reservation. The ICICI Bank then “may” require you to enter the OTP.

A problem as an NRI that you may face is that, you may not have the access to the US mobile phone. In that case you will have to check your email. The email will typically look like this’

Dear Customer,

Thank you for banking with us.

As a part of our security measures, we have enabled the use of an OTP (One-Time Password) for your current session. The OTP to access your account is 1234567.

Please use this OTP immediately.

Please do not share your OTP with anyone, even if the person claims to be an ICICI Bank official.

If you have not logged into your Internet Banking account recently and yet have received this password,

please call our 24-hour Customer Care immediately to report as FRAUD.

Note that you may have to wait for some time before the email arrives in your inbox.

No related posts.

Uncategorized

  1. Ravi Shankar Singh
    May 27th, 2011 at 13:59 | #1

    The problem is in the reverse case . I am an Indian resident and I am travelling to US. I am trying to login into ICICI bank and it is asking me OTP.. I do not have access to my Indian Moblie phone in the US. and for some reason for ICICI decided to not send the OTP on e-mail for Resident Indian account.

    This is really pain in the neck instead of a security feature..

    Ravi

  2. Indian
    June 9th, 2011 at 06:31 | #2

    Yes, this is really pain in the neck. The email facility should be activated for resident Indian account. If you cannot access your bank account internationally then what is the need of private bank who claims them as International banks. Any features should be user friendly it should not be making a mental stress to the users.

  3. Indian
    June 9th, 2011 at 06:35 | #3

    Why a bank should depend upon the mobile facility only. Some people do not want to use the mobiles because of the radiation. In those cases the email facility should be activated.

  4. June 13th, 2011 at 04:24 | #4

    Its is so ridiculous. It is a useless security feature which they say was selected by customers only. It takes 3 working days to change cell phone number/email. I have decided enough is enough. It has reached a limit now. Three times I was about to switch bank and didn’t do it but now I am certain. How could they implement feature without any alternative. I mean why cant we select email or mobile number? Why can’t someone have an option of not going for i-safe. It should be upto customer to select if he does not want to go for it, he should be ready to face consequences. ICICIDirect has good feature of changing password every 15 days now why couldn’t they learn from their own stuff. They never thought about possible worst case scenarios and how customers would be stranded for 3 days before they could even login to their own bank account. How could a corporate house take such action without using their head?. Seriously dumb people who thought about it. There are so many other alternatives which provides greater security and still not stupid.

  5. Bharat
    July 12th, 2011 at 11:17 | #5

    It is high time to move away from this toxic bank. It is pain in neck and they gives fundas to us. They use Infosys head which has socked it by giving IT services. There is really big issues with ICICI bank IT systems as half of the time Credit card is not accessible or loan account is not accessible. They don’t show the existing e-mail id and mobile number set in account. This is height of stupidity and we go to bank for convenience and not inconvenience. Miss Chanda might not realize but it is going to blow lots of customers.

  6. Ved
    August 5th, 2011 at 11:41 | #6

    @Ravi Shankar Singh
    This is really a very stupid mechanism. I am in US and I am unable to get the SMS. I need to change my bank. No other bank has such stupid ideas.

  7. icici a/c holder
    August 10th, 2011 at 12:55 | #7

    Real pain in the *** to say the least.

  8. icici a/c holder
    August 10th, 2011 at 12:58 | #8

    What the **** is Mrs. Chanda doing?

  9. Rajeeb
    August 11th, 2011 at 02:48 | #9

    Dude, thanks for putting the ‘stupid’, ‘thoughtless’ OTP feature of ICICI Bank internet banking in your blog. This feature is very frustrating and hopeless and instead of feeling secure, it makes life difficult for the customers. I am a resident customer of ICICI Bank for past many years. Recently, I moved out of the country. Gosh! I can’t log in to my account any longer. Every time I try to log in, I am asked to enter OTP. F***! I can’t pay bills online, can’t view my a/c details, can’t make money transfer to other accounts and so on. It is now as good as having no account at all. To worsen the problem, I can’t ask to generate an OTP (I am out of the country for long and my registered mobile no. no longer works), they won’t send me it on my e-mail id (as I am not NRI customer). Moreover I can’t register my e-mail as that feature gets enabled only after one logs-in to the a/c (I can’t log-in as I’ve no OTP). Now, can you imagine how much trouble it’s giving to me? While contacting customer service, neither the NRI help center nor the resident customer service executives are able (willing) to help me as they’re not sure which category of customer I belong to. Finally, after struggling and facing lots of difficulties, I am deciding to close or stop transacting with my ICICI bank a/c. These guys know no business! OTP is no security feature, it’s pain in the a** hole.
    -Rajeeb
    Saudi Arabia

  10. Rajeeb
    August 11th, 2011 at 02:57 | #10

    A Mr. J Murugan has created a petition about ICICI issue..

    please sign here..

    http://www.petitiononline.com/IC782343/petition.html

  11. Rajeeb
    August 11th, 2011 at 03:00 | #11

    OTP is not One Time Password, it should be renamed as Over To Problem….it sucks….!!

  12. Indian
    August 11th, 2011 at 08:46 | #12

    Do anyone find any solution. I think the only solution for this problem is to close the account. But even how to close the account from US. What about the money in the account. it is ridiculous i could able to see my transactions and the balance in my account. i don’t know how to overcome this problem.

  13. Sandeep
    August 13th, 2011 at 04:28 | #13

    ICICI has gone nuts!! same problem as I try to access my account from UK… they are asking me to change my mobile number through a letter which has to be sent to ICICI branch (which would take minimum of 10 days)
    To fuck with ICICI!!! I am closing my a/c soon when I am back in India and transferring money to HDFC.

  14. Shyam
    August 17th, 2011 at 23:05 | #14

    I am going to close my account once I am back to India.
    ICICI, You gonna get it very bad this time for OTP non sense.

  15. Prabhat
    August 18th, 2011 at 21:23 | #15

    OTP is really a pain………huussssssssss
    Do anyone let me know the secure browser to access the ICICI website?

    Thanks in advance.

    -Prabhat

  16. Dinesh
    August 30th, 2011 at 06:33 | #16

    I am also having same problem. I am out of India and cant get OTP as SMS.
    This is nonsense, now i dont have any access to my account.

    what is the problem with sending OTP in mail ID?
    why email OTP option only for NRI?
    what is the logic behind having only mobile number for resident account holder
    and Email option for NRI?

    I cant continue with this bank account anymore.

  17. Sanj
    August 30th, 2011 at 06:51 | #17

    OTP is really stupid.It dissolves the importance of what we called online banking which can used used all over world. There is no simple solution.I am not able to access my account overseas.If i have to go to back ICICIBank for any change .I will probably go and Change the bank.

  18. Prashant
    October 16th, 2011 at 13:11 | #18

    OTP really sucks, I am unable to access my ICICI account anymore. I have come to US for a few months and now wont be able to access my account. No customer care service both in India and US is of not much help. Wish they had the feature of sending it through email.

    Surprised company like Infy developed such a stupid system for ICICI.

  19. CA Sheeba Ann
    November 8th, 2011 at 07:18 | #19

    OTP from ICICI is a real problem. Inspite of registering the mobile no , not receiving the sms and when the issue is escalated, they are not looking into the matter and just sending a mail asking me to check with my service provider abroad.

  20. S KAUSHIK
    November 16th, 2011 at 13:29 | #20

    I live in Europe and I use very regularly the internet banking. Since a few months, from the same computer that I use regularly, I cannot log in and I nbever receive the OTP neither on my cell phone nor on my registered email address!!

    With another computer and at another location, within the same country, I can log in perfectly.

    What kind of IP control is made, when I can login once then not any mre but with another computer, I can do so!

    I send emails to the NRI Departments without any help from them!

  21. Muhammed Anseer
    December 30th, 2011 at 03:29 | #21

    The OTP really sucks as I am not able to login when I upgraded my IE7 browser to IE8. I am going to stop ICICI account when I am back to India.
    Otherwise they could have provided a user option to receive OTP either through mobile ot Email.

    Definitely this nonsense OTP security concepts would make loss for their buisiness

  22. kalaiselvi
    January 2nd, 2012 at 23:44 | #22

    This OTP is secure process, but it can be created only for new login in unusual system not for more than time.. Mostly all the IT peoples will use the Account @ office only rarely they wil use at home, during this each login if it asked not good.. make oit as a single otp for login unusual.

  23. February 5th, 2012 at 22:06 | #23

    I am maintaining SB account at a Chennai branch. I am trying to log on to my account for the past 5 days unsucessfully due OTP requirement. Everytime i log on system asks for OTP and i do not get OTP to my mobile. I sent emails to the customer care but no reply or ack. received so far.
    Even if i send a sms request for OTP, reply will be “time out” or to send another lengthy msg in different manner to ” i help”. Making a call to the customer care and getting reply will be very difficult.

  24. April 17th, 2012 at 07:04 | #24

    I HAVE NOT GETTING OTP IN MY MOBILE NO WHY IT IS SO. EVEN I HAVE TRY I COULD NOT GETTING IN NET ALSO REGARDS FROM PATEL MY NO NO IS 9699259256

  25. Lavanya Sethi
    February 2nd, 2013 at 02:55 | #25

    I am Lavanya.N holding ICICI account in Delhi Vikaspuri Branch branch for more than four years. On 11th of December 2012, myaccount statement showed that there were three VPS transaction made using my ICICI Debit card. But the card was with me. So Immediately I called customer care and asked to block my card to stop further invalid transactions happening from my card.
    When I enquired customer care, I was asked to file a fraudulent case and as said I gave a complaint about this issue in Police station on 12th Dec 2012. And on further enquiry with ICICI customer care I came to know that all the three VPS transaction was made in 3 different shops in Bangalore.
    Hereby I kindly request you to suggest necessary action to find out the fraudulent that has happened and help me in getting back my money which is altogether a total sum of Rs.5640/- .
    Following are the transactions made in Bangalore.
    No Value Date Transaction Date Description Withdrawals Available balance Time
    11/12/2012 11/12/2012 VPS/SMART-NANDI/20110111124321/0 2,330.00 6,920.66 12.44
    11/12/2012 11/12/2012 VPS/TRINETHRA S/20110111130344/0 2,310.00 4,610.66 13.04
    11/12/2012 11/12/2012 VPS/KANTI SWEET/20110111164251/0 1,000.00 3,610.66 16.43

    Please help me in finding this fraudulent transaction that has happened from my ICICI account. I have also filed a complaint in ICICI as well as here, http://www.consumercourt.in/net-banking/6828-icici-net-banking.html at consumer court site but so far no action has been taken on this case.

  26. Sindhu
    July 22nd, 2013 at 08:15 | #26

    FUCK OTP!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.