Home > Notebook Reviews > Toshiba satellite L650 notebook review

Toshiba satellite L650 notebook review

April 20th, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Toshiba introduced 3 new satellite models. This series of laptops are pocket friendly. Toshiba satellite L650 is one of them. These Satellite models are intended to the customers looking for budget friendly laptop without any changes in look and performance.  L650 is aimed for home computing and for student. The specifications of Toshiba Satellite L650 are as follows.

The design and specification of L650 satellite model of Toshiba is similar to L670; only difference is the screen size. Toshiba satellite L650 comes with True Brite 15.6” HD LED backlit Screen with ‘Resolution+’ technology. This technology used for processing images to enhance sharpness, color and contrast of DVD images, convert general content  to nearly HD content.

Toshiba satellite L650 is powered by Intel core and AMD processors. One can select between Intel i3. i5 and AMD processors.  The laptop runs on Microsoft Windows 7 home premium.

Graphics supported by ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5145 with 512MB VRAM depends on model.

RAM comprises upto DDR3 4GB (1066 MHz).

Connectivity features comprises of following

  • USB ports 2.0 – Two
  • eSATA/USB combo port –one
  • HDMI out
  • Multicard reader
  • DVD super multidrive

For Wifi connectivity it comprises WLAN( 802.11/b/g/n).

Aside from this, Toshiba satellite L650 also has numeric keypad and multi-touchpad for better computing. It also integrated with Toshiba Lifespace software. Toshiba LifeSpace help to organize day to day jobs like personal appointments, and reminders. Thus, user can easily keep track of important schedules.

Toshiba Satellite Lifespace is compatible with Windows 7 and it helps to keep desktop clutter free by offering virtual and customisable ‘Bulletin Board’. This unique feature allows users to generate instantaneous thumbnail shortcuts, keeping desktops neat and clean. It also allows one-click access to vital files and folders

Toshiba satellite L650 comes with built-in VGA web camera with face recognition feature. With the help of this feature user can login securely to their system. Other unique feature include Toshiba media controller which is illustrated in Toshiba satellite L670 review.

The L650 model comprises Toshiba Eco Utility tool which helps to save power. This feature also found in L670 and Toshiba satellite C650.

Overall feature is good for home computing and for multimedia task.

  1. Bint
    May 17th, 2010 at 07:57 | #1

    Hi!

    I have the L650-11F, Intel i5, and it’s a cool machine.
    Very sillent, and if using the Toshiba Eco Utility, it only drains 21watts from battery 🙂

    Performance and image quality are quite good.
    Quality and robust materials.

    My only remark: the desktop usefull area could benefit if the resolution were higher: 1366×768 is short (in height, mostly) for the working area im used to. Still, is the resolution for the masses…

  2. Paul-Sebastian Manole
    July 7th, 2010 at 10:25 | #2

    @Bint
    I’m quite happy to hear someone being pleased by the product.
    I am myself planning on buying a Toshiba laptop in the 400-800 USD range.
    I think this might be it or a Satellite L650-114 which is currently available in online stores near me.

  3. Cham
    September 6th, 2010 at 19:10 | #3

    I have the Toshiba L650 11F and it is a great laptop. Very silent and also light. It has good Intel i5 Processor and the battery lasts for almost 3 hrs. The screen is superb. Rich in details and very good at watching DVDs. It can also connect to wireless internet connection even at very low signal reception. The ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 graphics accelerator also does the job well at high-end games. The only thing I don’t like about it is the poor quality built-in webcam. Overall, this laptop is a great buy!

  4. Kellie
    September 9th, 2010 at 08:09 | #4

    Yesterday was my birthday and I was given the Toshiba L650. While I was excited at the thought of getting a new laptop.. I had wanted to make the pick/purchase myself when the time came. So, I was hesitant over my excitement… I did not want to look a gifthorse in the mouth but laptops are personal and I assume many people, not just me.. feel it is a personal buy lol.
    I am highly impressed and thankful for the choice they made. I love it.
    It suits my basic needs(it is used for personal use.. not corporate) and I love the weight, feel and look of it.
    I love the keypad .. I love a stand alone keypad because of my fast ten-key and having it at the top annoyed me.

    Two thumbs up !

  5. BoggyB
    September 11th, 2010 at 16:46 | #5

    Buying the L650-11F in a couple of days…. Done a lot of research into mobile graphic cards, processors and the L650 in general, and it looks AWESOME. Definitely the best buy in the 700 Euro price range when it comes to gaming laptops. Noticeably better gaming laptops show up only in the +1000 Euro price range, which I am not prepared to pay for.

    I am freaking EXCITED!

    And thanks to Bint and Cham for your reassuring comments.

  6. Mostafa
    September 14th, 2010 at 07:40 | #6

    I have Toshiba L650-11F ,, it’s a great laptop but its speaker is low a little bit except this its a awesome one 😀 😀

  7. Isaac
    September 15th, 2010 at 08:44 | #7

    I have Toshiba L650 which is really great but i have a little problem does the functional key control the volume up and down?

  8. bilal
    October 3rd, 2010 at 01:36 | #8

    I have the same issue.I am also looking for functional key control for volume up and down. any advice

  9. Cham
    October 15th, 2010 at 13:49 | #9

    @BoggyB

    Glad you made the right choice! I also would like to rectify my comments about the video quality of the webcam. When I peeled the adhesive plastic on the webcam, it made a significant change on the video quality. This laptop even has the best built-in webcam!

    BoggyB, enjoy your new laptop! 🙂

  10. Cham
    October 15th, 2010 at 13:54 | #10

    @bilal

    Go to Microsoft website, and download the volume control gadget. This will solve your issues with the volume control.

  11. jerry
    November 2nd, 2010 at 03:47 | #11

    i’m not pleased with my l650-S5107 cause it frooze five times within the day i received it. Now i have to send it back for repairs,isn’t that great

  12. besmich
    November 8th, 2010 at 00:22 | #12

    I have the same laptop, but sorry to say when i press my fn(function key) and my f8-key, the wireless option only allows my bluetooth to be switched on and off, not my wireless as well. Can anyone help me with this problem?! I installed a new bios version 1.8, which i got from the toshiba site. This shpuldn’t have caused the problem maybe?

    Please any help.

  13. Rebecca
    November 24th, 2010 at 00:33 | #13

    My sister and I reetly got our own laptops, both the same model, Satellite L650
    The laptop is awesome except for a couple things,
    1-The webcam quality isnt so gr8 or maybe its the problem mentioned in number 2
    2-My sister has the exact same things downloaded as i do but my laptop is always losing the internet signal and hers NEVER does

  14. Sam
    January 11th, 2011 at 11:16 | #14

    FN+3 makes the volume go down
    FN+4 makes the volume go up.

    The only thing I do no like about this laptop is the quality of the webcam.

  15. January 13th, 2011 at 05:31 | #15

    I’m buying this tommorow because my old computer screens is just gone. If i had the money i would certainly buy another computer, but i must say for <$1000 AUS this is an amazing laptop. Intel i5 2.53ghz turbo boost to 2.8 and ATi Radeon HD 5650, 4g ram, 1g dedicated graphics ram, sleek, sexy design. If i was to buy this from like Sony, i'd easily pay over 1.5k. This is a great buy, researched HEAPS, and this is the bomb yo, but i must say no computer comes even close to macbook pros. Well if your looking for a cheap but great computer for gaming, movie etc.. then this is it. Don't lose your chance!!! 😀

  16. aaron
    January 23rd, 2011 at 15:53 | #16

    I dropped my HP DV 6 from the balcony, and I had to buy a new Laptop immediately without doing any research, because I work from home and needed the machine immediately.

    I hopped into Harvey Norman, looked at the prices and got my i5 with 4gb ram for 998$ AUD.

    Happy top see this laptop has great reviews.

  17. Ryan
    February 8th, 2011 at 18:45 | #17

    does anyone have a Satellite L650-BT2N15 Laptop thats what i ordered had it upgraded to a I5 processor I primarily use my computer for a game called shyaia. anyone have this same computer? hows it work?